Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus


Frankenstein is the world-famous story of a doctor whose brilliant mind gets the better of him. One of the first and certainly most enduring Gothic novels of the English literary tradition, its premise allows the reader to hear the story not only from the perspective of the tragic Dr. Frankenstein, but also from that of his listener, Captain Walton -- who has entertained similar fascinations in the natural sciences.

The book is divided into three sections: Shelley's Preface, four letters from Walton to his sister back in England, and the twenty-four chapters that make up Dr. Frankenstein's story. This version follows the text faithfully and includes one chapter per page, except for Chapter 24, which is much longer than the others and whose format lends to its division into three sections.

Directional buttons by Thadd Brophy are at the bottom of each page and allow the reader to go from the current letter or chapter to the previous page, to this index page, or to the next page. The pages are navigable with or without graphics display. The files range in size from about 7 to 20K; over a 14.4 modem, no page should take longer than a minute to load once all three directional buttons (2K apiece) are cached.

Letter 1 Letter 2 Letter 3 Letter 4
Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4
Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7 Chapter 8
Chapter 9 Chapter 10 Chapter 11 Chapter 12
Chapter 13 Chapter 14 Chapter 15 Chapter 16
Chapter 17 Chapter 18 Chapter 19 Chapter 20
Chapter 21 Chapter 22 Chapter 23
Chapter 24, Part One Chapter 24, Part Two Chapter 24, Part Three

This introduction and all hypertext are Copyright (c) 1995 by M. L. Grant. All images are Copyright (c) 1995 by Thadd Brophy. All rights reserved.
Boutell.Com, Inc.